Commission Members

The State Water Commission (SWC or Commission) consists of the Governor as chairman, the Commissioner of Agriculture as an ex-officio member, and seven members who are appointed by the Governor to serve terms of six years each. The terms of office for appointees are arranged such that two terms and not more than three terms shall expire on the first day of July of each odd numbered year. The Commission appoints a Secretary (the State Engineer) as its executive officer, who employs a staff as needed to carry out the work of the Commission.

The State Water Commission was created by legislative action in 1937, as a result of the drought of the 1930s, for the specific purpose of fostering and promoting water resources development throughout the state.

The State Water Commission is located primarily in the State Office Building near the State Capitol in Bismarck, North Dakota. In addition, the Commission has field offices in Fargo and near Minnewaukan.

Water Commission members are listed below, along with their term expiration.

Governor Doug Burgum, Chairman

Doug Burgum, Chairman
Governor of North Dakota
600 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505
(701) 328-2200
Term expires: 12/31/2020

Doug Goehring

Doug Goehring, Commissioner
Commissioner, Department of Agriculture
600 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505
(701) 328-4754
Term expires: 12/31/2017

Commission Members

On August 10, 2017, Governor Doug Burgum appointed seven new members to the State Water Commission. New commission membership and information will be updated at a later date.

Please see the News Release for more details.